So, You’ve Gone and Got a Green Bowl Stuck on Your Head

This morning, Beckett got a green plastic bowl stuck on his head.

Now, when I say “stuck” I mean mostly that he got the bowl onto his bald noggin without any clue as to how to get it off again.  All he needed to do was to lift the bowl up – as one removes a hat – to free himself.  Instead, he managed to tilt said green plastic bowl to the perfect angle; the bowl sat on his head, covered his eyes and nose and rested on his lips.  From there, he could just sit and chew on the edge of the bowl. I got up to go get the camera, and by the time I got back, the bowl had slipped off Beckett’s head to the floor.

I offer up this image as an illustration of Beckett’s personality as I see it so far. He got his head stuck in a bowl – and he just figured it was something to chew on.  I kept waiting for him to freak out, but instead he just kind of… rolled with it.

I don’t like to play the comparison game too much.  It’s not really fair to say that Maggie did this while Beckett does that.  It’s partly unfair just because I can’t remember exactly how Maggie was at each age.  She is who she is now, and it is as if she has always been that way.  It’s also unfair because Maggie and Beckett are simply two different people.  But, with two children, some degree of comparison is inevitable.  So allow me to embrace the inevitable for a moment.

When Maggie was about 6 months old, she wanted to crawl.  She wasn’t just experimenting with the idea of crawling.  She was working on it.  I have a very vivid memory of a baby Maggie propped up on all fours, rocking back and forth, trying with every fiber of her being to figure out just how to make all of her limbs work in cooperation to get her from Point A to Point B.  She was so … determined.  As she has grown, that determination has not lessened at all.  She intentionally sets up obstacles for herself, and she practices until she masters whatever skill she is working at, be it climbing stairs without holding on, walking over pillows, crawling under/over/through the various IKEA furniture that we have around the house.  If anyone interrupts her practice with something so trivial as, say, dinner, she gets frustrated even to the point of lashing out and hitting.

Some of this is just typical toddler behavior, and I don’t mean to say that my toddler is extra special, by any means.  But her personality seems to be one of determination and drive.  She is a do-er.

Beckett, on the other hand, is not yet really showing any interest in crawling.  He rarely cries except when he’s hungry, and then when he does get fed he demonstrates such overwhelming gratitude by practically jumping up and down that it’s hard to remember the angst that he was expressing in those moments before.  When he does want to get somewhere, he kind of… scoots.  His favorite posture is sitting straight up, where he can keep an eye on things – especially his big sister.  And when he gets a bowl stuck on his head, he seems to just assume that that’s the way things are supposed to be, so he might as well enjoy it.

I know that all this might change as he grows into his personality more.  But for the time being, I’m going to try to keep the camera a little closer, in case that bowl happens to land on his head again.

2 Comments

Filed under Babies, Choas, Life, Parenting, Toddlers, Uncategorized

2 responses to “So, You’ve Gone and Got a Green Bowl Stuck on Your Head

  1. Pingback: On the MOVE | kiradault

  2. So cute. Head on over to my site and hit the “us” tab and look at the two first pictures I took of my twins years ago, if you have a moment, I think you will relate.