Playing in the Dirt, revisited

Several weeks ago, I wrote about planting herb seeds with Maggie.  At the time I was unsure of just what would end up growing where, and how well it would grow.

In case anyone was under the impression that I am a gardener, let me disillusion you now.  I am no gardener.  In fact, this has really been my first attempt at growing anything, ever.

When I was growing up, my mother maintained beautiful gardens.  My brother and I spent time weeding and helping to do things like mulch, but I suppose the kid version of me was just never interested enough in what was actually going on to really learn much except the proper way to pull a weed.  (Get the root.  Also, it’s easier to do if the ground is wet, though a bit messy.)

So several weeks after planting seeds, we have… some plants.  I have been able to identify with certainty basil, marjoram, oregano, and thyme.  Also dill.  The dill is growing like… I don’t know.  DILL!  This summer we will be required to eat lots of salmon and vegetable dip.  The mint just decided not to come up, so David and I packed the kids into the car and went and bought a couple of mint plants, along with parsley and lemon balm.  So we now have mint, parsley, lemon balm, dill, basil, marjoram, oregano and thyme.

And then there’s this… other plant.  See, I had thought that I had planted sage, and so I assumed that the very tall, grassy plant coming up was sage, since I could identify everything else.  The problem is, this is a plant that looks nothing like any sage plant that the Interwebs can show me.

Like a genius, I threw away the seed packets, thinking “I won’t forget what I planted!”  Of course, two weeks later, I’m looking at these grassy shoots and thinking, “What on earth did I plant?”

On the one hand, I’m kind of excited to see what these plants turn into, whether they are something edible, or if I grabbed a wonky packet of seeds.  On the other hand, the hand that likes to be in control and who really prefers to know everything, it is a little frustrating to know that I don’t know what this is.  I have resisted the urge several times to just pull the stuff up because I can’t identify it.  But then there’s this voice inside me that tells me that this is a garden that was planted with love and largely for fun.  Some things grow well.  Others don’t.  We seem to have a volunteer tomato plant that we’re not pulling up, so we can afford to wait and see.

So once again, I have been schooled by plants.  I am waiting and seeing, and most of the time, I’m okay with that.

(Oh, and here are some pictures of our plants.)

Basil

Lemon Balm

Rose

Mystery Grass-like Plant

Comments Off on Playing in the Dirt, revisited

Filed under Choas, Life, Parenting, Toddlers, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.