Small Assignment 4: Inspiration

Sitting down to write and staring at a blank screen (or notebook, or whiteboard, or whatever) can be one of the single most paralyzing experiences I have on any given day. In fact, the time when I am most likely to walk away in defeat is in those moments when I am simply terrified that I will not have anything worth writing.

This is when many writers (and creative people, generally) begin to look for inspiration. We wait for the muse to show up and hit us over the head (hopefully with some kind of a Nerf implement).

Once upon a time, when writing was a hobby for me, and not much else, it was easy to walk away due to lack of inspiration. But now, writing is not only a hobby. It is my livelihood. It has become a way of life. Inspiration really can’t keep up with that. So now, I am going to write about inspiration.

The small assignment this week is to write about inspiration. Think about where you find inspiration (if you do, in fact, find inspiration.) Write about a time when you felt particularly inspired. Write an inspirational haiku. Write a short story about a musician seeking inspiration from the Niagara Falls. Whatever. Your inspiration is inspiration. Go! Good scribbling!

As usual, if you choose to write something based on the prompt, write it and post the link in a comment here. Also, please “share” the small assignments with anyone who might be interested in writing them!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Life, Small Assignments, Writing

5 responses to “Small Assignment 4: Inspiration

  1. Pingback: On Inspiration | Small Assignments

  2. prajjwald

    Thanks for the challenge, I gave it a shot, and thought it was fun (a bit too egotistical, but isn’t that a pardonable sin in self-indulgent blogs like mine 🙂 ) http://prajjwald.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/what-inspires-me/

  3. Pingback: What Inspires Me « Prajjwal and his musings

  4. http://anecdotaltales.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/the-astounding-meeting-of-albert-play-so/

    My inspiration for silly stories often comes from Roald Dahl. So that’s what I tried to do and ended up with a longer tale than I expected. I blame you (and Dahl) for this monster.

  5. Pingback: The Astounding Meeting of Albert & Play-So « Anecdotal Tales